Thursday, June 2, 2011

The Ospina Presidents – Mariano Ospina Pérez

Don Mariano Ospina Pérez was one of the founders the National Federation of Coffee Growers of Colombia in 1927. The Second National Congress of Coffee Growers convened in Medellín in 1927. Two sons of Tulio Ospina Vasquez, Rafael Ospina Perez and Mariano Ospina Perez, were among the representatives of the province of Antioquia. As a result of this Congress, the National Federation of Coffee Growers of Colombia was created.

He was later elected as General Director of the Colombian Coffee Federation in 1930 and he served in this position until 1934. Under his outstanding aegis, the Coffee Federation successfully consolidated the nation's coffee industry and, Colombia became the largest producer of premium Arabica coffee beans in the world. To that end, he also created the largest financial institution in the country (La Caja Agraria) to help meet the credit needs of coffee growers, and other small farmers and peasants.

Don Mariano Ospina Pérez was elected and sworn in as the 43rd President of Colombia in 1946 and he governed until 1950. His mayor accomplishments were the creation of the Social Security System, the Department of Labor and the Housing Authority, and the agrarian, labor and social reforms.

Yours most truly,

Mariano Ospina

No comments:

Post a Comment